What Type of Care is Best for Your Loved One?

Types of long term care.

There are several different types of care available for people who are aging, seriously ill, or living with a disability. Some Medicare covers, and others, it does not.

The following is an over-view of Medicare Coverage.

What IS NOT Covered by Medicare

Non Medical In-Home Care, also known as Custodial Care, refers to non-skilled, personal care, such as help with activities of daily living like bathing, dressing, eating, getting in or out of a bed or chair, moving around, and using the bathroom. It may also include care that most people can do themselves, like using eye drops.

Long-Term Care includes a variety of services that help people with health, personal needs, and activities of daily living over a period of time. This care can be provided at home, in the community, or in various types of facilities, including nursing homes and assisted living facilities. Most long-term care is custodial care. Medicare doesn’t cover this type of care if this is the only kind of care a person needs.

What IS Covered by Medicare

Home Health Care may include limited part-time or intermittent skilled nursing care and home health aide services, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology services, medical social services, durable medical equipment (such as wheelchairs, hospital beds, oxygen, and walkers), medical supplies, and other services provided in the patient’s home.

A doctor or other health care provider enrolled in Medicare must order the care for Medicare to cover it, and a Medicare-certified home health agency must provide it.

Hospice Care offers a special way of caring for people who are terminally ill, typically utilizing a team-oriented approach to address medical, physical, social, emotional, and spiritual needs. Hospice also provides support to the patient’s family or caregiver.

Inpatient Care refers to health care for those admitted to a hospital or skilled nursing facility.

Long-Term Hospital Care refers to acute care hospitals that provide treatment for patients who stay, on average, more than 25 days. Most patients are transferred from an intensive or critical care unit. Services provided include comprehensive rehabilitation, respiratory therapy, head trauma treatment, and pain management.

Skilled Nursing Care refers to a level of care that includes services that can only be performed safely and correctly by a licensed nurse (either a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse). Skilled Nursing Facility (Covered by Medicare) Skilled nursing facilities are those with the staff and equipment to give skilled nursing care and/or skilled rehabilitation services and other related health services.

Source: www.medicare.gov

Related Topics:

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.